Leadership in safety

Sharing the safety vision

4 minutes
Sharing the safety vision Sharing the safety vision

Now that you have identified what your future safety goal is, it is time to share it, and enrich it with feedback from the field and discussions within teams. In short, you need to bring it to life. ‘Sharing the safety vision’ is the 2nd principle of leadership, and it will encourage buy-in and commitment from teams.

Why is this important?

You might have thrown yourself into defining what you think is the best vision of safety, but if you are the only one who knows about it, nobody else really understands what you are talking about, and your teams feel that they have no say in what happens, your efforts will have no effect. So, you have to talk to your colleagues, and take advantage of every moment spent in the field to find out what everyone else thinks is important in terms of safety.

How do I share my vision of safety?

Sharing the vision means being able to give meaning to safety messages and actions, and encouraging honest, open debate. It also means knowing how to communicate in different ways depending on the target level and function within the company, in order to reach the hearts and minds of employees.

Fortunately, a safety vision is not set in stone! There must be room for maneuver, and teams must be able to adapt your vision to their needs and their level, to make it their own.

To do this, it is up to safety leaders to:

  • Identify key opportunities and make the most of them to encourage feedback and dialogue about safety
  • Deliver a safety message that engages people
  • Use communication efforts to support more participative management
  • Regularly remind colleagues of safety objectives, and the challenges that still remain
  • Repeat the same messages to maintain awareness, motivation and commitment
  • Promote good practices, encourage and support initiatives

 

A quick look at 3 key opportunities to share the safety vision

From the newcomer’s familiarization briefing, through to more informal opportunities, any time is a good time to talk about safety! Like any new habit, little and often is the best way to make progress. Regular, consistent small actions are more effective than intense efforts. As the saying goes, tall oaks grow from little acorns.

If you adopt this attitude, each visit to the field becomes an opportunity to talk about events or safety news, to learn lessons, to discuss a specific risk, talk about any changes or decisions that might impact the safety of the team, or share a personal experience that is relevant to the work of your colleagues.

The safety chat

The safety chat – whether a minute each day, fifteen minutes each week or month – is a great tool to discuss safety, starting with a message, an image, feedback, or personal experience. Don’t forget that these chats are not just for operational teams: support functions also have risks (electrical, slips, trips and falls, etc.): it is always useful to ensure that everyone is aware of the risks.

The safety chat is an opportunity to:

  • share messages about a safety theme or feedback from an unwanted event
  • encourage the group to contribute, ask about their first-hand experience
  • work on team cohesion, and align what is said with safety practices

 

The briefing

The briefing is held just before an operation begins. It is an opportunity to share the details of the situation, and is essential to ensure safety. During a briefing, you can:

  • talk about what there is to do and how to do it, identify the major risks
  • encourage feedback, anticipate any hazards and potential disruptors
  • ensure the existence and follow-up of prevention actions focused on the specificities of the operation and its risks

 

Welcoming new colleagues

The manager’s first words about safety set the tone for everything that follows. This is your opportunity to:

  • share safety values, explain the safety vision and give it meaning
  • demonstrate your own commitment to safety, and show that you expect the new recruits to also make a commitment to safety
  • encourage transparency about potential difficulties or errors

>> Last but not least, it should be noted that these opportunities are not necessarily the domain of the manager. While the leader can initiate them, so can anyone else. You could say it is even good practice, as a way to encourage a commitment to safety, and keep the discussion going.


Using participative management to share the vision of safety

What is participative management? It is motivating employees. It’s their engagement. A committed employee is five times less likely to have an accident, and seven times less likely to be absent due to injury. To motivate employees: they can identify risks, participate in assessing hazards, contribute to the analysis if an incident occurs, supervise newcomers, or show their peers how things are done, etc. This not only improves cross-supervision, and communication between employees, but also between frontline managers, middle managers and employees. Ultimately, this improves methods, processes, motivation, morale and job satisfaction. People are happy to come to work. It’s a safe place, they’re committed, engaged.

Dominic Cooper, B-Safe Management Solutions (USA)

 

Articles on the same topic

Leadership en sécurité

Partager la vision sécurité

5 minutes
Partager la vision sécurité Partager la vision sécurité

Votre ambition sécurité est créée, il est essentiel maintenant de la partager, de l’alimenter par les retours du terrain, les discussions au sein des équipes… bref, la faire vivre.

« Partager la vision sécurité », c’est le 2e principe du leadership, qui permet de susciter l’adhésion et l’implication des équipes.

Pourquoi c’est important ?

Vous pouvez avoir défini la plus pertinente et enthousiasmante des visions sécurité, si elle reste au placard et que personne ne sait vraiment de quoi il s’agit, que les collaborateurs ont l’impression de ne pas avoir leur mot à dire, cela n’aura aucun effet… Alors communiquez et profitez de chaque moment sur le terrain pour échanger sur ce qui paraît important, à chacun, en matière de sécurité. 

Comment partager la vision sécurité ?

Partager la vision, c’est être capable de donner du sens aux messages et actions sécurité, de susciter les échanges dans un climat d’écoute et de confiance. C’est aussi savoir adresser une communication adaptée aux différents niveaux et fonctions dans l’entreprise, pour toucher le cœur et l’esprit des salariés.  

Une vision sécurité n’est pas figée, heureusement ! Il existe des marges de manœuvre dont les équipes doivent se saisir afin d’adapter cette vision à leurs besoins, à leur périmètre, de la faire leur.  

Pour cela, il revient aux leaders en sécurité de :

  • Identifier les moments clés sécurité et « les mettre à profit » pour favoriser la remontée d’informations et le dialogue
  • Savoir délivrer un message sécurité engageant
  • Mettre sa communication au service d'un management plus participatif
  • Rappeler régulièrement les objectifs, partager la vision des enjeux à travailler
  • Renouveler les messages pour entretenir l’éveil, la motivation et l’implication
  • Valoriser les bonnes pratiques, encourager et accompagner les initiatives

Zoom sur 3 moments clés pour partager la vision sécurité

De l’accueil du nouvel arrivant au briefing, en passant par des moments plus informels, toutes les occasions sont bonnes à prendre pour parler sécurité ! Un peu tous les jours. Car en leadership, préférez la constance et la consistance plutôt que l’intensité des actions. Comme le dit l’adage : « les petites rivières font de grands ruisseaux ».  

Alors chaque visite sur le terrain devient l’occasion d’évoquer des événements ou une actualité sécurité, d’en tirer des enseignements, de discuter d’un risque spécifique, d’échanger sur les modifications et décisions impactant la sécurité des équipes, de parler d’une expérience personnelle qui résonne en nous et qui touchera nos collègues.

Les moments clés sécurité - Crédit : BBgraphisme - ©IcsiLes moments clés sécurité - Crédit : BBgraphisme - ©Icsi

La causerie sécurité

La causerie sécurité - une minute tous les jours, ¼ heure chaque semaine ou chaque mois... - est un formidable outil pour dialoguer et mettre en débat la sécurité autour d’un message, une image, une remontée d’information, un témoignage personnel… Et ce type d’échange n’est pas réservé qu’aux équipes opérationnelles : les fonctions support ont également des risques (électriques, chute de plain-pied…) et il est bon de maintenir un éveil de la conscience des risques pour tous.  

Lors de ces moments, vous pouvez :  

  • partager des messages autour d’une thématique sécurité, d’une remontée d’événement indésirable
  • inviter le collectif à prendre la parole, solliciter des témoignages
  • travailler la cohésion d’équipe et ainsi aligner les discours et les pratiques sécurité

Le briefing

Le briefing de l’activité a lieu quant à lui à chaque début d’activité. Ce moment de partage au plus près de l’action est indispensable pour démarrer les opérations en toute sécurité. Lors d’un briefing, vous pouvez :

  • partager ce qui est à faire et comment le faire, repérer les risques majeurs
  • faire remonter les informations, anticiper les aléas et les perturbateurs possible
  • Vous assurer de l’existence et du suivi d’actions de prévention centrées sur les spécificités de l’activité et ses risques

L’accueil du nouvel arrivant

Les premiers messages sécurité transmis par le manager sont essentiels : ils donnent le la. C’est pour vous l’opportunité de :

  • Partager les valeurs sécurité, expliquer la vision sécurité et lui donner du sens
  • Montrer que vous êtes investi en sécurité et qu’un engagement en sécurité est attendu de la part des personnes recrutées
  • Encourager la transparence sur les éventuelles difficultés ou erreurs

>> Last but not least, notez bien que ces moments ne sont pas forcément conduits par un manager. Si le leader les impulse, tout le monde peut les animer. C’est même conseillé, pour engager chacun en sécurité et faire tourner la prise de parole.


Le management participatif au service d’une vision partagée

Qu’est-ce que le management participatif ? C’est la mobilisation des employés. C’est leur engagement. Un employé impliqué est cinq fois moins susceptible d’avoir un accident, et sept fois moins d'être absent pour cause de blessures. Pour mobiliser les employés : ils peuvent identifier les risques, participer à évaluer les dangers, contribuer à l’analyse en cas d’incident, encadrer les nouveaux arrivants, présenter des travaux entre pairs… Cela améliore la supervision croisée, la communication entre salariés, mais aussi entre managers de première ligne, managers intermédiaires et employés. Cela améliore in fine les méthodes, les processus, la motivation, le moral et la satisfaction des gens. Ils sont contents de venir au travail. C’est un lieu sûr, ils sont impliqués, engagés

Dominic Cooper, B-Safe Management Solutions (USA)

 

 

SE FORMER AU LEADERSHIP EN SECURITE

Découvrez notre formation 100% digitale " Développez le leadership en sécurité de vos managers", en inter ou intra entreprise.

Découvrir la formation sur notre site web www.safety-in-practice.org

 

Articles sur le même thème