Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling

Risk analysis
Resilience and uncertainty
2014
|
Enrico Zio and Nicola Pedroni - Foncsi
Download
Add to my selection

The authors propose a method for assessing the performance of a maintenance policy whilst accounting for uncertainty in various parameters of the degradation model. The method is appropriate for the representation and propagation of epistemic uncertainty which is elicited from an expert, who can provide a family of confidence intervals for each uncertain parameter. Information elicited from the expert is described using possibility distributions and propagated through the degradation model using fuzzy random variables and the Dempster-Shafer Theory of Evidence.

In classical approaches to uncertainty propagation based on probability theory, probability distributions are used to represent information obtained from experts. However, expert judgment is often expressed using imprecise linguistic statements, and the imposition of specific probability distributions over-constrains this uncertain information in an arbitrary and unjustified manner. Possibility theory allows the epistemic uncertainty arising from expert opinion to be represented in an arguably more rigorous manner, without introducing additional bias.

A practical case study concerning the maintenance of a check valve of a turbo-pump lubricating system in a nuclear power plant illustrates the method. A rupture failure model caused by fatigue is modeled, and a Condition-Based Maintenance policy is applied to the component over a fixed time horizon. The performance of the maintenance policy is assessed in terms of cost and component unavailability.

The method produces plausibility and belief distributions for the output values of interest. Further work is necessary to help decision-makers interpret this information and integrate it in decision-support procedures.

Published under Creative Commons licence. See conditions for reproduction.

Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling

Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling

Analyse de risque
Résilience et incertitude
2014
|
Enrico Zio and Nicola Pedroni - Foncsi
Télécharger
Ajouter à ma sélection

Les auteurs proposent une méthode pour évaluer la performance d’une politique de maintenance en intégrant l’effet de l’incertitude affectant différents paramètres d’un modèle de dégradation. La méthode proposée est adaptée à la représentation et la propagation d’incertitude de nature épistémique provenant d’avis d’experts. Pour chaque paramètre incertain, l’expert fournit une famille d’intervalles de confiance. Cette information élicitée est représentée à l’aide de distributions de possibilité et propagée dans le modèle de dégradation à l’aide de variables aléatoires floues et de la théorie des croyances de Dempster-Shafer.

Les approches classiques de la propagation d’incertitude, basées sur la théorie classique de la probabilité, utilisent des distributions de probabilité pour représenter l’information provenant d’experts. Cependant, les jugements d’expert sont souvent obtenus à l’aide d’expressions linguistiques imprécises, et imposer des distributions de probabilité sur-contraint cette information incertaine de façon arbitraire. La théorie des possibilités permet de représenter cette incertitude épistémique de manière rigoureuse, sans introduire des biais.

Une étude de cas pratique, concernant la maintenance d’une soupape dans une turbo-pompe d’un système de lubrification d’une centrale nucléaire de production d’électricité, permet d’illustrer la méthode. Un modèle de défaillances par rupture provoquées par la fatigue est développé, et une politique de maintenance conditionnelle (basée sur l’état) est appliquée au composant sur un horizon temporel fixe. La performance de la politique de maintenance est évaluée en termes de coûts et d’indisponibilité du composant.
La méthode produite des distributions de plausibilité et de croyance pour les variables de sortie d’intérêt. Des travaux complémentaires sont nécessaires pour aider les décideurs à interpréter ces informations et les intégrer à des processus et outils d’aide à la décision.

Publication sous licence Creative Commons. Consultez les conditions de reproduction.

Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling Possibilistic methods for uncertainty treatment: an application to maintenance modelling